Forty mayors signed the "Declaration for Active Protection of the Environment and Climate Change’’

31 Jan, 2024


On January 31, 2024, an event was held in Skopje with the theme "Local approach to active environmental protection and climate change mitigation", which managed to unite the mayors from the municipalities of the Republic of North Macedonia, as one of the most significant links in dealing with local environmental challenges, but also in undertaking local actions in adaptation and mitigation of climate change, by signing the "Declaration for active protection of the environment and climate change mitigation".

The event was addressed by Kaja Shukova Minister of Environment & Physical Planning of the Republic of North Macedonia, Nehat Ramadani CNVP North Macedonia Country Director, representatives from Eco-svest and Macedonian Young Lawyers Association.

"The role of the municipalities is very important, and even more important is how the mayors manage them, and how they look at the essential global problems and solutions. Many policies, documents, strategies can be developed at the global or national level, but if they do not find support and interest, and are not implemented at the local level, the desired goals will not be achieved," emphasized Nehat Ramadani, CNVP North Macedonia Country Director in his speech.

The event was attended by 40 mayors, who during the event had an excellent opportunity for mutual cooperation, sharing best practices and researching joint initiatives that will contribute to the overall well-being of our communities. In addition, at the event, the obligations of the municipalities from the Green Agenda for the Western Balkan were presented through a display of activities and opportunities for financing at the local level.

The event is organized as part of the project "CSO in Action for Climate Change" implemented by Eco-svest, the Macedonian Young Lawyers Association (MYLA) and the Organization Connecting Natural Values and People - CNVP, financially supported by the Swedish government, together in cooperation with the Ministry of Environment and Physical Planning - Department for Cooperation with Local Self-Government and Administrative and Supervisory Affairs.